Be Imperfect

IMG_1018
Imperfect Copy

 

By:  Katie Runnels

Sometimes I find myself running on the treadmill of comparison; I keep striving for a “perfection” that is based on a false appearance of someone else’s perfection.  Perfection–as we know it–does not really exist.

Do you ever look in the mirror and wish your boobs were bigger, your face clearer, and your legs a little longer?  Do you wish you had a little more talent, a little more money, and a lot less stress?  Do you wish you could be as ambitious as your neighbor and as patient as your priest?  I do.  I do.  I do.  How do these people do it?  Why can’t I be as “perfect” as these people?

I have found, however, that to  strive for perfection is a dangerous venture.  In most cases it ends up as a  vicious, unrelenting, lustful, and deceptive whirlpool of frustration.

Ladies, come with me on this journey to  keep in touch and stay with the beautifully imperfect parts of ourselves.  Let’s help each other be honest, accepting, loving, and happy.  For when we fully accept our imperfections, we find a joy that is beyond “this world.”

“The thing that is really hard, and really amazing, is giving up on being perfect and beginning the work of becoming yourself.” Anna Quindlen

Leave a Reply

